All Upcoming
Events Home
  • All
  • Today
  • Tomorrow
  • This Weekend
  • Next 7 Days
  • Next 14 Days
  • This Month
  • Next Month
Upcoming Events
  • ARCHITECTURE & DESIGN
  • COMEDY
  • CONFERENCE
  • CULINARY ARTS
  • DANCE
  • FASHION
  • FILM
  • LECTURE
  • MULTICULTURAL
  • MUSEUM
  • MUSIC
    • Classical Music
    • Jazz/Contemporary/World
  • NEW MEDIA
  • OPERA
  • POLITICAL ARTS
  • READINGS & LITERATURE
  • THEATRE
    • Broadway
    • Downtown/Alternative
    • Off-Broadway
  • VISUAL ARTS
  • VOLUNTEER
  • FAMILY
  • AUDITIONS/CALL FOR ARTISTS
  • OUTDOOR
  • PARTY
  • TELEVISION
  • JAZZ
  • SPORTS
  • WRITING
  • POETRY - READINGS
  • POETRY - SLAM
  • CONVERSATION
  • CAMPUS CULTURAL EVENT
  • OTHER
Genre
  • (le) poisson rouge
  • 59E59 Theaters
  • 92nd Street Y
  • The Apollo Theater
  • The Bell House
  • Book Culture
  • Bronx Zoo
  • Brooklyn Academy of Music
  • Brooklyn Museum
  • Carolines on Broadway
  • Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center at Alice Tully Hall
  • Children's Museum of the Arts
  • David Rubenstein Atrium at Lincoln Center
  • The Delancey
  • Dizzy's Club Coca Cola
  • The Drama Book Shop
  • El Museo del Barrio
  • The Elektra Theatre (at Times Scare)
  • Film Forum
  • Free Tours by Foot
  • Galapagos Art Space
  • Gotham Writers' Workshop
  • Green Gallery
  • The Gym at Judson
  • Happy Ending
  • Horizon Photography Workshops
  • Irish Repertory Theatre
  • ISSUE Project Room
  • Joe's Pub
  • Karina Junker - Actress & Voice Artist
  • Kidberry
  • The Knitting Factory
  • Library of America
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Art Gallery
  • The Morgan Library & Museum
  • Mud Creek Art
  • Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
  • Museum of the City of New York
  • New Museum
  • New World Stages
  • New York Aquarium
  • New York Public Library: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building
  • New York Youth Symphony
  • The Paley Center for Media
  • Pen Parentis
  • Pete's Candy Store
  • Quad Cinema
  • Queens Museum of Art
  • Roundabout Theatre
  • Rubin Museum of Art
  • Snapple Theater Center
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab
  • Symphony Space
  • Tribeca Cinemas
  • Tribeca Performing Arts Center
  • Wave Hill
  • Webster Hall
  • Whitney Museum
Venues
  • MANHATTAN
    • Chelsea
    • Chinatown
    • Columbia Campus
    • East Village
    • Financial/Battery Park
    • Flatiron
    • Gramercy
    • Harlem
    • Hell's Kitchen
    • Little Italy
    • Lower East Side
    • Meatpacking District
    • Midtown East
    • Midtown West
    • Murray Hill/Kips Bay
    • Nolita
    • Soho
    • Spanish Harlem
    • Tribeca
    • Union Square
    • Upper East Side
    • Upper Manhattan
    • Upper West Side
    • Wash Hts/Inwood
    • West Village
  • BROOKLYN
  • BRONX
  • LONG ISLAND/HAMPTONS
  • STATEN ISLAND
  • QUEENS
  • UPSTATE NEW YORK
  • OTHER
Neighborhood
From: $ To: $
Free Events Only
Price
Search Events: From: To: Advanced
Search
Choose your search criteria and click GO to view results.
Search Criteria:
Full Price FREE
Museum and Music

June 05 2012 to September 26 2012

Friday 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM

 
 
2 Lincoln Square
(Columbus Avenue between 65th and 66th Streets)
New York, NY 10023-6214
212.595.9533


The American Folk Art Museum becomes a colorful venue for live music provided in a seated, listening-room environment every Friday night from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.  Admission is free and includes the opportunity to view the current exhibition Jubilation/Rumination:  Life Real and Imagined, which features masterworks from the collection by self-taught artists working during the past three centuries.  Free Music Friday performances seek to honor the independent creative spirit embodied in the works of art on view in the exhibition. 

 

Said Stacy C. Hollander, curator, “There is an immediacy to the art in Jubilation that is deeply rooted in the personal lives of the makers.  Like the music being performed, each work tells a story in a unique voice.” 

 

 Upcoming schedule

Friday, June 1
Jalopy Theatre Presents At American Folk Art Museum

Jackson Lynch (myspace.com/jacksonlynchmusic • jalopy.biz)
Jalopy Theatre in Red Hook, Brooklyn showcases traditional roots music from around the world. In a special partnership with the American Folk Art Museum, Jalopy Theatre presents old-time, country-blues, guitar-playing songster Jackson Lynch, performing a variety of traditional music of rural America.

Friday, June 8
--Craig Lawrence (craiglawrenceonline.com):  strong, sunny pop
--Julia Barry (juliabarry.com):  lyrically lush jazz songwriting

--Jodi Shaw (jodishaw.com):  acoustic songwriting, many moods

Friday, June 15
--Avi Wisnia (aviwisnia.com): jazz pop with bits of bossa nova
--Julie Kathryn (juliekathryn.com): moody, lost love songs
--Elin Ruth (elinruth.com): pop country rock from Sweden

Friday, June 22
--Dave Doobinin (davedoobininmusic.com): lyrically-driven guitar rock
--Nick Africano (nickafricano.bandcamp.com): folk soul songwriting
--Halle and the Jilt (halleandthejilt.com): cheerful indie pop

Friday, June 29
--
Woody Lissauer (woodysongs.com):  acoustic folk pop
--Kerri Lowe (kerrilowe.com):  North Carolina Americana infused with a Brooklyn

sound
--Hunter Paye (hunterpaye.com): joyful acoustic roots rock

 

Friday, July 6:
Jalopy Theatre Presents At American Folk Art Museum
An evening of traditional roots music from around the world (jalopy.biz)

Friday, July 13
--Scott Stein (scottsteinmusic.com): melodic, blues-tinged pianist/singer/songwriter
--Luke Wesley (lukewesley.com): bold, polished piano rock
--Matt Singer (mattsingermusic.tumblr.com): catchy, wistful folk-pop songs

Friday, July 20
--Cordelia Stephens (reverbnation.com/cordeliastephens): inventive, lyrically-driven folk

rock

--Joy Askew (joyaskew.com):  pop-folk singer/songwriter

--Niall Connolly (niallconnolly.com): alternative folk from Cork, Ireland

Friday, July 27
--Steve Katz (stevekatzmusic.com): guitar-based pop-rock singer songwriter
--Liz Tormes (liztormes.com):  a Nashville singer-songwriter who infuses her music with

NYC-based sounds and lyrics





Comments:


Post a comment
or thru CUarts (Log in | Register)





 
 
  Feedback, Questions? Email us at alumniarts@columbia.edu or call the CAAL office at 212.851.9256 Mon. - Fri. 10 - 5PM.
Copyright ©2000-2014 Columbia University. All Rights Reserved.